clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Full 2021 Philadelphia Union schedule released

New, 1 comment

The Union play two Western Conference teams, six Eastern Conference teams three times and seven conference foes twice

Major League Soccer finally released the full schedule for the 2021 season and in doing so revealed how little play there will be between teams in the two conferences.

Each of the 27 teams in the league will play just two opposing conference teams this season. The Union host Portland Timbers and visit Minnesota United in their longest road trip of the season (1,164 miles stadium-to-stadium).

Within their conference, the Union will play six teams three times and the other seven teams twice. That leaves 11 teams in the league they will not face in the regular season. The Union didn’t play 12 teams in regular season matches that counted toward their first Supporters’ Shield trophy in 2020.

The Union play Chicago Fire, Columbus Crew, DC United, New England Revolution, New York Red Bulls, NYCFC three times.

The last of the three-game series with NYCFC will be on Decision Day in the Bronx. It will be the third meeting between the two teams on the final day of the season and the second at Yankee Stadium.

Totaled up, the Union will travel 18,528 miles round trip stadium-to-stadium. In 2019, the last time the Union played a full season with 17 road trips, they totaled 36,410 miles round trip stadium-to-stadium.

On the broadcast front, the Union will have seven nationally-televised games, at least one game on 6abc locally and 25 games on PHL17. Fans within the Delaware Valley will again be able to stream locally-broadcast games on PhiladelphiaUnion.com at no cost.

Philadelphia Union 2021 MLS Schedule

Date Opponent Time TV
Date Opponent Time TV
Sun., April 18 @ Columbus Crew SC 5:30 p.m. FS1, Fox Deportes
Sat., April 24 Inter Miami CF 8:00 p.m. PHL17
Sat., May 1 NYCFC 7:30 p.m. PHL17
Sat., May 8 @ Chicago Fire FC 1:00 p.m. 6abc
Wed., May 12 New England Revolution 7:30 p.m. PHL17
Sat., May 15 New York Red Bulls 7:30 p.m. PHL17
Sun., May 23 @ D.C. United 7:00 p.m. PHL17
Sun., May 30 Portland Timbers 5:30 p.m. FS1
Sun., June 20 @ Atlanta United FC 2:00 p.m. ESPN
Wed., June 23 Columbus Crew SC 7:30 p.m. PHL17
Sat., June 26 @ Chicago Fire FC 8:00 p.m. PHL17
Mon., July 5 @ Nashville SC 8:00 p.m. PHL17
Thurs., July 8 @ New York Red Bulls TBA PHL17
Sat., July 17 D.C. United 7:30 p.m. PHL17
Thurs., July 22 @ Orlando City SC 7:30 p.m. ESPN
Sun., July 25 @ Inter Miami CF TBA PHL17
Sun., Aug. 1 Chicago Fire FC 6:00 p.m. UniMas
Wed., Aug. 4 Toronto FC 7:30 p.m. PHL17
Sun., Aug. 8 @ New England Revolution 6:00 p.m. PHL17
Sat., Aug. 14 @ FC Cincinnati 8:00 p.m. PHL17
Wed., Aug. 18 NYCFC 7:30 p.m. PHL17
Sat., Aug. 21 CF Montréal 7:30 p.m. PHL17
Sat., Aug. 28 @ D.C. United 8:00 p.m. PHL17
Wed., Sept. 15 New England Revolution 7:30 p.m. PHL17
Sun., Sept. 19 Orlando City SC 4:00 p.m. ESPN
Sat., Sept. 25 Atlanta United FC 3:30 p.m. Univision
Wed., Sept. 29 @ New York Red Bulls TBA PHL17
Sat., Oct. 2 Columbus Crew SC 7:30 p.m. PHL17
Sat., Oct. 16 @ CF Montréal 1:00 p.m. PHL17
Wed., Oct. 20 @ Minnesota United FC 8:00 p.m. PHL17
Sat., Oct. 23 Nashville SC 7:30 p.m. PHL17
Wed., Oct. 27 @ Toronto FC 7:30 p.m. PHL17
Sat., Oct. 30 FC Cincinnati 7:30 p.m. PHL17
Sun., Nov. 7 @ NYCFC 3:30 p.m. TBA
Dates, times, and broadcast information subject to change