clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Union 2 kicking off U18 tournament today in Colombia

A squad of Union 2 and Union Development Squad players is in Colombia for a U18 tournament this week

Shivant Krishnan

Philadelphia Union 2 is opening up play in the Torneo Las Americas Elite in Colombia this morning.

Their first match kicks off at 11 a.m. against Academia Alemena. They’ll play Deportivo Cali tomorrow before taking on Club Deportivo Aston Villa on Wednesday morning and completing the group stage of the competition against Real Cartagena on Thursday. Semifinals will be played Saturday with the final on Sunday.

Union 2 head coach Marlon LeBlanc has a squad of 21 players on the trip for the U18 tournament that includes players from the Union Development Squad, which is coached by Fred DaSilva.

The roster includes first team homegrown Brandan Craig and left back Anton Sorenson, who will be joining the first team in 2022. Recent addition Damián Alguera, a 17-year-old goalkeeper who previously played for Sporting Kansas City and San Jose Earthquakes academies, is also in the team after playing in a friendly against Chicago Fire in Bridgeview, Ill. last week.

Union 2 regulars Jack Jasinski, Nelson Pierre, Ian Abbey, Jackson Gilman, Samuel Jones, Marcos Zambrano, Anthony Ramirez, Diego Lopez and Gael Medrano are in the team along with goalkeepers Owen Moore and Ian Turnbull. Rounding out the roster are U17 defender Frankie Westfield and UDS regulars Kleberson Pereira, Samuel Fenton, Robert Myrick, Paul Killeen, Ritter Sundby and Jordan Lawrence.


  • Monday, October 18- Union II vs. Academia Alemena [11 a.m. ET]
  • Tuesday, October 19- Union II vs. Deportivo Cali [11 a.m. ET]
  • Wednesday, October 20- Union II vs. Club Deportivo Aston Villa [9 a.m. ET]
  • Thursday, October 21- Union II vs. Real Cartagena [11 a.m. ET]


Goalkeepers (3): Damián Alguera, Owen Moore, Ian Turnbull

Defenders (7): Brandan Craig, Anton Sorenson, Samuel Jones, Samuel Fenton, Robert Myrick, Frankie Westfield, Kleberson Pereira

Midfielders (7): Diego Lopez, Jack Jasinski, Gael Medrano, Anthony Ramirez, Ian Abbey, Jackson Gilman, Ritter Sundby

Forwards (4): Nelson Pierre, Marcos Zambrano, Paul Killeen, Jordan Lawrence