clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ilsinho and Oravec left available for selection in MLS Expansion Draft

Austin FC will draft five players tomorrow

Morgan Tencza

Ilsinho and Matej Oravec are the only players on the Philadelphia Union’s roster left unprotected for Tuesday’s MLS Expansion Draft by Austin FC.

Warren Creavalle, Michee Ngalina, Andrew Wooten, Joe Bendik and Aurelien Collin will also be available for selection since players on the 2020 roster are eligible. Bendik and Collin are out of contract while Creavalle, Ngalina and Wooten had options declined for the 2021 season.

Austin FC can select up to five players in the draft tomorrow at 6 p.m.

Philadelphia Union today announced their protected list for the 2020 MLS Expansion Draft. Scheduled for Tuesday, Dec. 15 at 6 p.m. ET, the Expansion Draft gives Austin FC the opportunity to add five players to their roster, with only a single player able to be drafted from any one club.

The Union would receive $50,000 in general allocation money if they have a player drafted, which hasn’t happened since 2014 when Pedro Ribeiro was drafted by Orlando City. The only other player the Union has lost in franchise history to an expansion draft was Justin Mapp, who was picked up by Montreal Impact in 2011.

The Union protected Alejandro Bedoya, Andre Blake, Cory Burke, Jack Elliott, Raymon Gaddis, Jakob Glesnes, Jose Martinez, Olivier Mbaizo, Jamiro Monteiro, Kacper Przybylko, Sergio Santos and Kai Wagner. All of their homegrown players are also automatically protected.

New York City FC, FC Cincinnati, Los Angeles Football Club, Columbus Crew SC, Seattle Sounders FC, Minnesota United FC, Portland Timbers, New England Revolution, Atlanta United and Sporting Kansas City won’t have any players eligible in the draft since they lost players in the 2019 expansion draft. That leaves Austin with the choice of a single player from five of the 16 participating teams.