clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Back-to-Back: United States wins fourth World Cup with 2-0 win over Netherlands

Megan Rapinoe scored on a penalty and Rose Lavelle added an exclamation point

United States of America v Netherlands : Final - 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup France Photo by Maddie Meyer - FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images

The United States are Women’s World Cup champions for the fourth time after beating the Netherlands 2-0 in the final in Lyon, France.

The Oranje held the Americans scoreless in the first half — the first time they’ve failed to score inside 12 minutes in the tournament — but a high boot to Alex Morgan that was ruled a penalty after review led to Megan Rapinoe’s penalty in the 61st minute. Eight minutes later, Rose Lavelle drove the ball straight up the middle and scored from distance to double the lead.

The U.S. became the second country to successfully defend their title as Women’s World Cup champions, joining Germany (2003 and 2007). They also joined the 1991, 1999 and 2015 teams to reach the pinnacle of global soccer with their 12th straight World Cup win.

With her sixth goal, Rapinoe became the oldest to score in a World Cup final and joined Michelle Akers as the second American to win the Golden Boot. Alex Morgan finished the tournament with six goals and drew the penalty that set up Rapinoe’s winner (Rapinoe won the tiebreaker with most goals per minute).