clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Philadelphia Union 2019 schedule announced

New, 1 comment

Atlanta United away in week 3, a trip to Allianz Field and Orlando City twice in one week highlight 2019 slate

MLS: Philadelphia Union at Orlando City SC Douglas DeFelice-USA TODAY Sports

Philadelphia Union fans won’t have to wait long to see the boys in blue tested in 2019.

After opening against the 2017 MLS Cup champions Toronto FC at home on March 2 and traveling to Children’s Mercy Stadium to face the defending regular season Western Conference champions on Sunday, March 10, the Philadelphia Union will travel to face Atlanta United at Mercedes-Benz Stadium on Sunday, March 17.

It’s one of two times the Union will play Atlanta United and their Eastern Conference foes in a 34-game schedule released on Monday afternoon. They’ll host the Five Stripes on Saturday, August 31.

The Union will face Orlando City twice in one week in a Wednesday game on July 3 at Orlando City Stadium and a game three days later at Talen Energy Stadium.

Their Decision Day opponent will again be New York City FC, which beat the Union on Decision Day and in the first round of the playoffs three days later. Both games were played at Yankee Stadium, but in 2019 the Union will close the season playing on an actual soccer field. What will hopefully be their only visit to Yankee Stadium in 2019 is scheduled for June 29.

Western Conference road trips for 2019 will also include LA Galaxy away on Saturday, April 13, a visit to BC Place to play Vancouver Whitecaps on Saturday, April 27 (four days later they’ll be back home to host FC Cincinnati), a visit to Minnesota United’s new digs at Allianz Field on Sunday, June 2, a Sunday game at Rio Tinto Stadium against Real Salt Lake on July 14 and a mid-week clash with San Jose Earthquakes on September 25.

The Union get to play Western Conference foes FC Dallas (April 6), Seattle Sounders (May 18), Portland Timbers (May 25), Colorado Rapids (May 29), Houston Dynamo (August 11) and Los Angeles FC (September 14) at home.

Some other key dates will include a Sunday match at Red Bull Arena on September 22 that’s three days before the trip to San Jose and a visit to Audi Field to play D.C. United on Sunday, August 4.

Former Philadelphia Union homegrown Jimmy McLaughlin will have a potential homecoming when FC Cincinnati face the Union on Wednesday, May 1 at Talen Energy Stadium and Woodbury, N.J. native Tyler Miller has a shot to play close to his hometown with LAFC on September 14. Keegan Rosenberry’s return with Colorado is slated for May 29.

Five of the Union home games will be part of a double-header at Talen Energy Stadium, where Bethlehem Steel FC are also playing their home games in 2019. Those dates (all Saturdays) are March 23, May 18, May 25, August 24 and August 31. (Click here for a spreadsheet of the two schedules combined).

What games are you looking forward to in 2019? Let us know in the comments.

2019 Philadelphia Union Schedule

2019 Philadelphia Union Schedule

Date Time Home Team Away Team Venue
Date Time Home Team Away Team Venue
Saturday, March 2 1 p.m. Philadelphia Union Toronto FC Talen Energy Stadium
Sunday, March 10 3 p.m. Sporting Kansas City Philadelphia Union Children's Mercy Stadium
Sunday, March 17 7 p.m. Atlanta United Philadelphia Union Mercedes-Benz Stadium
Saturday, March 23 TBD Philadelphia Union Columbus Crew Talen Energy Stadium
Saturday, March 30 7;30 p.m. FC Cincinnati Philadelphia Union Nippert Stadium
Saturday, April 6 7:30 p.m. Philadelphia Union FC Dallas Talen Energy Stadium
Saturday, April 13 10:30 p.m. LA Galaxy Philadelphia Union Dignity Health Sports Park
Saturday, April 20 7:30 p.m. Philadelphia Union Montreal Impact Talen Energy Stadium
Saturday, April 27 5 p.m. Vancouver Whitecaps Philadelphia Union BC Place
Wednesday, May 1 7:30 p.m. Philadelphia Union FC Cincinnati Talen Energy Stadium
Saturday, May 4 7:30 p.m. Philadelphia Union New England Revolution Talen Energy Stadium
Saturday, May 11 3 p.m. Toronto FC Philadelphia Union BMO Field
Saturday, May 18 7:30 p.m. Philadelphia Union Seattle Sounders FC Talen Energy Stadium
Saturday, May 25 7:30 p.m. Philadelphia Union Portland Timbers Talen Energy Stadium
Wednesday, May 29 7:30 p.m. Philadelphia Union Colorado Rapids Talen Energy Stadium
Sunday, June 2 6 p.m. Minnesota United FC Philadelphia Union Allianz Field
Saturday, June 8 7:30 p.m. Philadelphia Union New York Red Bulls Talen Energy Stadium
Wednesday, June 26 7:30 p.m. New England Revolution Philadelphia Union Gillette Stadium
Saturday, June 29 7 p.m. New York City FC Philadelphia Union Yankee Stadium
Wednesday, July 3 TBD Orlando City SC Philadelphia Union Orlando City Stadium
Saturday, July 6 TBD Philadelphia Union Orlando City SC Talen Energy Stadium
Sunday, July 14 TBD Real Salt Lake Philadelphia Union Rio Tinto Stadium
Saturday, July 20 7:30 p.m. Philadelphia Union Chicago Fire Talen Energy Stadium
Saturday, July 27 8 p.m. Montreal Impact Philadelphia Union Stade Saputo
Sunday, August 4 7:30 p.m. D.C. United Philadelphia Union Audi Field
Sunday, August 11 6 p.m. Philadelphia Union Houston Dynamo Talen Energy Stadium
Saturday, August 17 8 p.m. Chicago Fire Philadelphia Union Toyota Park
Saturday, August 24 7:30 p.m. Philadelphia Union D.C. United Talen Energy Stadium
Saturday, August 31 7:30 p.m. Philadelphia Union Atlanta United Talen Energy Stadium
Saturday, September 14 7:30 p.m. Philadelphia Union Los Angeles FC Talen Energy Stadium
Sunday, September 22 6 p.m. New York Red Bulls Philadelphia Union Red Bull Arena
Wednesday, September 25 11 p.m. San Jose Earthquakes Philadelphia Union Avaya Stadium
Sunday, September 29 5 p.m. Columbus Crew Philadelphia Union MAPFRE Stadium
Sunday, October 6 4 p.m. Philadelphia Union New York City FC Talen Energy Stadium