clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

GAME THREAD: New York Red Bulls vs. Philadelphia Union

New, 14 comments
MLS: Chicago Fire at New York Red Bulls Vincent Carchietta-USA TODAY Sports

Game Info

  • Date: Sunday, September 17th
  • Time: 1:00 p.m. Eastern, 12:00 p.m. Central, 10:00 a.m. Pacific, 5:00 p.m. UTC
  • Venue: Red Bull Arena (Harrison, N.J.)
  • Referees: REF: JOSE CARLOS RIVERO, AR1: Logan Brown, AR2: Peter Manikowski, 4TH: Marcos DeOliveira, VAR: Mark Geiger
  • Television: ESPN, ESPN Deportes
  • Streaming: WatchESPN, ESPN Deportes+
  • All-time record: In MLS Play, the Philadelphia Union have won 6, lost 12, and drawn three against the New York Red Bulls. If you include the U.S. Open Cup, the Union’s record is 7W 13L 5D. The last meeting was in the U.S. Open Cup, when the Red Bulls eliminated the Union in penalties. The Red Bulls also won the last MLS meeting 2-0 back in June.
  • Know Thy Enemy: Once A Metro

Starting XI

  • Philadelphia Union: Andre Blake; Fabinho, Richie Marquez, Jack Elliott, Keegan Rosenberry; Haris Medunjanin, Alejandro Bedoya; Chris Pontius, Ilsinho, Marcus Epps; CJ Sapong
  • New York Red Bulls: Luis Robles; Connor Lade, Derrick Etienne Jr., Felipe Martins, Muhamed Keita, Sal Zizzo, Alex Muyl, Sean Davis, Gonzalo Veron, Damien Perrinelle, Michael Amir Murillo

Bench

  • Philadelphia Union: John McCarthy, Ray Gaddis, Josh Yaro, Warren Creavalle, Roland Alberg, Jay Simpson, Charlie Davies
  • New York Red Bulls: Ryan Meara, Bradley Wright-Phillips, Sacha Kljestan, Tyler Adams, Aaron Long, Fidel Escobar, Dilly Duka

Injuries

Philadelphia Union

  • OUT: F - Fabian Herbers (sports hernia surgery recovery)
  • OUT: D - Ken Tribbett (left Achilles strain)
  • OUT: M - Brian Carroll (lumbar disc herniation)
  • QUESTIONABLE: M - Maurice Edu (left ankle/left tibia surgery recovery)
  • SUSPENDED: D - Oguchi Onyewu (yellow card accumulation)

New York Red Bulls

  • OUT: D - Gideon Baah (broken leg - out for season)
  • OUT: M - Mike Grella (knee surgery - out for season)
  • OUT: M - Daniel Royer (knee injury)
  • OUT: D - Aurelien Collin (plantar fasciitis)