clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mexico vs. Jamaica , Gold Cup 2017: Time, TV schedule, and live stream

A re-match of the re-match to go back to the Final.

Andre Blake leads Jamaica to a victory over Canada in the 2017 Gold Cup.
Andre Blake leads Jamaica to a victory over Canada in the 2017 Gold Cup.
Michael Rincon / SB Nation

Game: Mexico vs. Jamaica

Date: Sunday, July 23rd

Time: 9:00 p.m. Eastern, 8:00 p.m. Central, 6:00 p.m. Pacific, 1:00 a.m. UTC

Venue: Sports Authority Field at Mile High (Denver, Colo.)

Television: United States - FOX Sports 1, Univision, Univision Deportes, AFN Sports; Mexico - UnivisionTDN, Canal 5 Televisa, TDN, Azteca 7, SKY Planeta Fútbol, Sky HD; for all other countries check here for your listing

Streaming: fuboTV, FOX Sports GO, Univision Deportes En Vivo, Univision NOW, FOX Soccer Match Pass

Radio: Futbol de Primera Radio, Westwood One Sports

Prior meetings: Mexico has defeated Jamaica in three of five matches dating back to 2013. The last match was a 0-0 draw in the group stage of the tournament 10 days ago.

What Mexico will look like: Mexico beat a pretty decent Honduras side to advance to the semifinal, however they’ll need to do much better against Jamaica than they have against any team during the entire tournament. Even their 0-0 draw last time out was a rather dull affair by both sides, perhaps understanding that they were both continuing into the second round and there was no real sense in going full bore against one another.

In their win over Honduras, Chivas de Guadalajara’s Rodolfo Pizarro scored the game’s only goal early in the match and Mexico was content to sit back and counter. They should not expect to get the lead four minutes in against Jamaica; instead they should look to get their entire offense involved and create chances inside the box. They have the firepower to beat anyone in the tournament - the question is do they have the playmaking ability to use that firepower in a productive way?

What Jamaica will look like: The Reggae Boyz defeated Canada 2-1 to advance on the back of a stellar performance by Philadelphia Union goalkeeper Andre Blake. Jamaica largely dominated Canada, getting the better looks at goal and really using what the Canadians gave them in order to create space and chances.

Jamaican forwards Darren Mattocks and Romario Williams looked lethal against Canada, and they (and Blake too) will most likely need to repeat their performance against a much tougher Mexican side that looks to be the odds-on favorites to win the tournament.

What to expect: Knowing they have a staunch defense and Andre Blake in net, Jamaica will most likely look to play the counterattack against Mexico. They’ll need to look to be opportunistic and convert whatever chances come their way. Mexico on the other hand should look to come out attacking and to pressure Jamaica into making mistakes that leave Blake exposed.