clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Keegan Rosenberry, Chris Pontius, and Alejandro Bedoya get called for US National Team duty

For the first time ever, three Philadelphia Union players will be on the USMNT squad.

Philadelphia Union vs Sporting Kansas City Photo Gallery Trey Madara / Brotherly Game

Recently Appointed United States Men’s National Team manager Bruce Arena announced his 32-man roster for January training camp, calling up Philadelphia Union members Alejandro Bedoya, Keegan Rosenberry, and Chris Pontius.

With European soccer still in full swing, Arena compiled a roster almost entirely of MLS players. Having coached in the MLS himself for years, Arena has offered hope for many in the MLS to make an impact who previously could not find opportunities under the more Euro-centric Jurgen Klinsmann.

Rosenberry is making his first ever appearance at a national team camp after a impressive rookie season with the Union in 2016. He was the runner-up for the league’s Rookie of the Year Award and became the only rookie in MLS history to play every minute of the season.

Pontius is returning the USMNT fold after an not appearing at a camp since 2011. He yet to earn his first international cap and was mostly off the radar under Klinsmann. He earned Comeback Player of the Year honors in the MLS after recording 12 goals and six assists for the Union.

Bedoya has been a national team mainstay and a trusted lieutenant of Jurgen Klinsmann with 55 international caps and four World Cup appearances. He joined the Union in August of 2016 from FC Nantes, and will have to reprove his worth under Arena.

The United States have two friendlies in January against Serbia in San Diego, Calif. on Jan. 29 and against Jamaica in Chattanooga, Tenn. on Feb. 3.

Here is the full positional breakdown of Arena’s January camp roster:

GOALKEEPERS (5): David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Stefan Frei (Seattle Sounders FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls)

DEFENDERS (10): DaMarcus Beasley (Unattached), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Taylor Kemp (D.C. United), Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Walker Zimmerman (FC Dallas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (12): Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Jermaine Jones (Unattached), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy), Kekuta Manneh (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Dax McCarty (New York Red Bulls), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)

FORWARDS (5): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)