clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

GAME THREAD: Portland Timbers vs. Philadelphia Union

New, 13 comments

The Union go on the road to face one of the best teams at home.

Bob Frid-USA TODAY Sports
UNION GAME #29

VS
Venue: Providence Park (Portland, OR)
Date: September 17, 2016
Time: 6:00 PM Eastern / 3:00 PM Pacific /  10:00 PM GMT
Television: The Comcast Network (Philadelphia), Root Sports (Portland), DirecTV 472, MLS Direct Kick
Online Streaming: MLS Live, MLS Direct Kick
Brotherly Game Match Preview: Portland Timbers vs. Philadelphia Union
Stumptown Footy Match Preview: Portland Timbers vs. Philadelphia Union Match Preview
Starting XI
Fanendo Adi Forward CJ Sapong

Darren Mattocks, Diego Valeri, Darlington Nagbe;

Jack Jewsbury, Diego Chara

Midfield

Chris Pontius, Tranquillo Barnetta, Fabian Herbers;

Brian Carroll, Alejandro Bedoya

Vytas Andriuskevicius, Liam Ridgewell, Steven Taylor, Alvas Powell Defense Fabinho, Richie Marquez, Josh Yaro, Keegan Rosenberry
Jake Gleeson Goalkeeper Andre Blake
Chris Konopka, Jermaine Taylor, Zarek Valentin, Ben Zemanski, Jack McInerney, Lucas Melano, Jack Barmby Bench John McCarthy, Ray Gaddis, Ken Tribbett, Ilsinho, Roland Alberg, Warren Creavalle, Charlie Davies
Numbers of Note
10: Total wins by Portland - all at home. The Timbers have lost 3 and drawn 2 at Providence Park this season.
376: Total fouls committed by Portland (4th in MLS). The Union by comparison have only committed 320 (16th in MLS).
2015: The last time the Union beat a team on the road outside of the Eastern Time Zone (September 5, 2015 against the San Jose Earthquakes).
Game Officials
Referee: Chris Penso
Assistant: Mike Rottersman
Assistant: Adam Garner
Fourth: Daniel Radford