clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Should either of Orlando's goals have counted?

New, 10 comments

Poor refereeing? Totally legal goals? Or somewhere in between?

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

The Philadelphia Union just wrapped up a 2-2 draw with Orlando City SC after a thrilling second half, but multiple controversies will certainly dominate discussion for the next few days. After Kaka scuffed a (deserved) penalty in the first half, Orlando managed to find the scoresheet twice thanks, in part, to some questionable refereeing. Let's take a look at the goals in question.

There's nothing wrong with Kevin Molino's easy finish, but Cyle Larin's involvement in the build-up could use a second look. The target forward looks to be going for the ball, but he catches a whole lot of Andre Blake in the process. Goalkeepers almost always earn the call in that situation, but referee Sorin Stoica didn't consider Molino's contact reckless or careless. It should be noted that Fabinho and Richie Marquez also collided with Blake, which may have influenced Stoica's decision to allow play to continue.

Orlando's second goal starts with a push from Kaka, but it's not one that Stoica ruled improper. With Rosenberry still reeling from the encounter, Kaka moves past him and sends a cross into Larin. His close-range, chested effort was initially saved by Blake, but the 'keeper was unable to cleanly gather it. With the ball bouncing along the goal line, Fabinho acted quickly to thump the ball out of danger. His attempted clearance was deemed futile; however, as the home side was awarded the goal. There is certainly doubt--at least among Union supporters--that the ball was fully over the line, and the broadcast's multiple indecisive replays did nothing to allay that uncertainty. Without a conclusive camera angle, we'll be left debating ad infinitum.

So what do you think? Take a vote in our poll and make sure to let it all out in the comment section!