clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Semifinalists for MAC Hermann trophy announced

Nine seniors, four juniors and two sophomores in the running for college soccer’s player of the year trophy

Maryland center back Alex Crognale
Matt Ralph

The National Soccer Coaches Association of America released the list of semifinalists for the annual Player of the Year award for college soccer on Tuesday.

The men’s list includes the son of a former USMNT star and seven internationals.

Providence star Julian Gressel, who has led the Friars to the Elite Eight for the second time in three years after knocking off top-seeded Maryland, is one of three Germans on the list. Louisville junior right back Tim Kubel and Maryland sophomore Gordon Wild are the others.

Ian Harkes, son of former United States international and current FC Cincinnati head coach John Harkes, is one of two Wake Forest midfielders on the list. Senior midfielder Jacori Hayes is the other.

Denver defender Reagan Dunk is the only repeat semifinalist from last season. He is one of five defenders on the list, which includes Maryland central defender Alex Crognale, Stanford junior Tomas Hilliard-Arce, Syracuse sophomore center back Miles Robinson and Kubel.

Butler forward David Goldsmith (Bristol, England), UMass Lowell forward Wuilito Fernandes (Praia, Cape Verde), Florida Gulf Coast forward Albert Ruiz (Barcelona, Spain) and Vermont forward Brian Wright (Ajax, Ontario) are the other international players in the list. Mercer University junior Will Bagrou is the only American forward in the mix.

Indiana midfielder Tanner Thompson, the older brother of San Jose Earthquakes midfielder Tommy Thompson, rounds out the list.

Just two spent time in MLS academies before college: Crognale with the Columbus Crew and Harkes with D.C. United.

Three finalists will be named on December 14. The winners will be announced at a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on January 6.

Click here to see the full list of men’s and women’s semifinalists.