clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jordan Morris wins MLS Rookie of the Year award

Rosenberry comes in second despite record-setting, All-Star season.

MLS: Conference Semifinals-FC Dallas at Seattle Sounders Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports

Jordan Morris of the Seattle Sounders has won the 2016 Major League Soccer Rookie of the Year award, beating out Jack Harrison of New York City FC and Keegan Rosenberry of the Philadelphia Union.

Morris had a good season, netting 12 goals and 4 assists in 2856 appearance with Seattle. He also made a second half appearance in the Chipotle Homegrown Game against the Mexico U20s.

Keegan Rosenberry finished second, despite setting an unbreakable rookie record of playing all 3060 minutes in a 34-game season for the Union. Rosenberry also added 2 goals and 2 assists during the season, won the MLS Fair Play Award in part for committing just 13 fouls all season, and started the MLS All-Star Game against Arsenal.

Harrison finished third in voting, having 4 goals and 7 assists in 1574 minutes with NYCFC. A combination of media votes, player votes, and club votes was used to determine the winner.