clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Andre Blake nominated for CONCACAF Goalkeeper of the Year

It's his second consecutive nomination.

Eric Hartline-USA TODAY Sports

Philadelphia Union and Jamaica goalkeeper Andre Blake is among the nominees for CONCACAF Male Goalkeeper of the Year, the confederation announced today. This is his second consecutive nomination, as he was shortlisted in 2014 as well.

Fellow MLS goalkeepers Bill Hamid (DCU) and Evan Bush (MTL) are also up for the award, with Brad Guzan, Dwayne Miller (JAM), Esteban Alvarado (CRC), Guillermo Ochoa (MEX), Jaime Penedo (PAN), and Moisés Muñoz (MEX) rounding out the list. Tim Howard has won two Goalkeeper of the Year awards since 2013, when CONCACAF began issuing confederation-wide awards.

With such a talented shortlist, Blake should again be considered a long shot. He failed to make an appearance in Jamaica's run to the Gold Cup Final, and he only played six games for the Union this season as a result of injuries and Jim Curtin's preference.

Fan and media voting is now open, with the former available here.