clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The five stages of a Union loss

The Philadelphia Union's 5-1 loss to the LA Galaxy was a textbook example in dealing with grief.

John Geliebter-USA TODAY Sports

Whether you know the name or not, you've certainly heard of the Kübler-Ross model of dealing with grief. It explains the five phases of emotions and behavior that people experience when dealing with the loss of a loved one - or in our case the loss we Union fans experienced Saturday at the hands of the Galaxy.

Step One: Denial

Step Two: Anger

Step Three: Bargaining

Step Four: Depression

Step Five: Acceptance