clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

You Be The GM: Which bench player most deserves to play?

We've reached the end of the You Be The GM series, with a wrap up of the results soon to follow. In the last post we look at the rest of the bench and decide who can make the biggest impact.

Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

There are five players that played meaningful minutes for the Union in 2014 that have not been covered (sorry Corben Bone). Rather than look at them all individually we're going to pick the one that we think has the most potential to help the Union going forward.

Austin Berry, Aaron Wheeler, Fred, Zach Pfeffer and Leo Fernandes all played for the Union but for some reason couldn't stay on the pitch consistently. Berry and Wheeler were part of Hackworth's bizarre center back rotation and eventually gave way to Maurice Edu, Ethan White and Carlos Valdes. Fred was a serviceable midfielder who spelled various starters. Pfeffer and Fernandes are both very young players who got nary more than a taste of the field, but both at least found the back of the net.

Here are the stats for the five players:

Bench Stats
Games Minutes Goals Assists Key Passes/90 Pass % Tackles/Gm Int/Gm Clear/Gm Rating
Wheeler 15 774 - - 0.1 71.2 1.5 1.6 3.4 6.70
Fernandes 13 710 2 1 1.9 78.9 1.3 0.5 0.4 6.62
Berry 6 499 - 1 0.2 75.3 1.0 3.8 7.5 6.98
Fred 11 356 1 - 0.5 81.7 0.8 - 0.1 6.35
Pfeffer 5 108 1 - 0.8 90.4 0.6 0.2 0.2 6.37

There are some notable statistics in this group. Leo Fernandes was actually 2nd on the team to Maidana in key passes completed per 90 minutes played with 1.9. Austin Berry put up impressive interception and clearance numbers and was scored highly by with a 6.98 rating. Zach Pfeffer completed over 90% of his passes in limited time.

It's not much to go on but you are the GM. Which of these deep bench players do you think most deserves to be on the pitch next season?

Thanks for reading the You Be The GM series and casting your vote. Be on the lookout next week for a complete wrap up of all the results.

Previous You Be The GM votes:


Michael Lahoud

Antoine Hoppenot

Danny Cruz

Ethan White

Pedro Ribeiro

Andrew Wenger


Brian Carroll

Conor Casey

Brian Brown

Maurice Edu

Amobi Okugo