clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Match Day #16 Game Thread: Philadelphia Union vs. F.C. Dallas

In Jack McInerney's final match in a Union uniform before joining Jurgen Klinsmann in a month long foray into the Gold Cup, the Philadelphia Union take on a Dallas squad currently in 3rd place in the Western Conference.

Who: Philadelphia Union vs. F.C. Dallas

Where: PPL Park, Chester, PA

When: 5:30 PM ET

Channel: NBCSN

Commentators: Arlo White and Kyle Martino

Meet The Opposition: Big D Soccer

The Philadelphia Union have won their last two MLS games, each by a score of 3-0. Their first win was against a Columbus Crew side on the brink of playoff contention, and their latest won was a 3-0 stomping at home of the New York Red Bulls. This afternoon the Union are faced with another upper echelon MLS opponent in MLS in F.C. Dallas. This game can be seen as critical for different reason than the last two, though. This is the last game for Jack McInerney before he goes off to play for the USMNT in the CONCACAF Gold Cup. While excellent for him, this might hamper the Union as he is their best player and has in multiple games this season single-handedly carried the team to victory. The Union have vaulted themselves into the upper tier of Eastern Conference teams. It is safe to say the Union will not bank 15 out of 15 points while McInerney is gone. A win here could be very important to the Union in maintaining their place atop the standings in the next month as they see their best player out for 5 games.

Philadelphia Union starting XI: (4-4-2) Zac MacMath; Raymon Gaddis, Jeff Parke, Amobi Okugo, Sheanon Williams; Brian Carrolly, Danny Cruz, Sebastien Le Toux, Michael Farfan; Conor Casey, Jack McInerney

Philadelphia Union bench: Aaron Wheeler, Leo Fernandes, Antoine Hoppenot, Matt Kassel, Chris Albright, Roger Torres, Chris Konopka

Dallas starting XI: (4-4-2) Raul Fernandez; Je-Vaughn Watson, Matt Hedges, Walker Zimmerman, Jair Benitez; Jackson, Michel, Andrew Jacobson, Fabian Castillo; Kenny Cooper, Blas Perez

Dallas bench: Bobby Warshaw, Stephen Keel, Ramon Nunez, Chris Seitz, London Woodberry, Eric Hassli, David Ferreira