clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Several Reading United Players Barely Miss Out on End of the Season Awards

Reading United AC's Deshorn Brown Named League MVP Finalist, Loses to Sullivan Silva
After being named to both the 2012 PDL All-League and Eastern Conference squads earlier in the week, the end of the season honors for the Reading United AC's Deshorn Brown kept on coming. The PDL named Brown as one of the league's Most Valuable Player finalists along with Thunder Bay's Sullivan Silva, and Mark Sherrod of Portland.

He, however, fell short of obtaining the coveted MVP award.

Brown, who missed the last two games of the season shared the league's goal-scoring title with Silva with 13 goals and was second in the league on points with 28. Silva having played two more games than Brown ended the season first with 32 points.

"We [were] not suprised [by the finalist nomination]. He has the ability and pace to change a game on his own and did so on a regular basis for us all year," Reading coach Brendan Burke said to the Brotherly Game. "If he had played 16 games this year I would think he would have run away with the award."

Also winning awards were Adam Grinwis (Rookie of the Year), Gary Parsons (Coach of the Year), Kevin cope (Defender of the Year) and Grinwis (Goalkeeper of the year).

List of award finalists after the jump...

Deshorn Brown, Reading United AC
Mark Sherrod, Portland Timbers U23s
Sullivan Silva, Thunder Bay Chill

Rookie of the Year
Jordan Green, Kansas City Brass
Adam Grinwis, Michigan Bucks
Mark Sherrod, Portland Timbers U-23s

Coach of the Year
Tony Colistro, Thunder Bay Chill
Marc Nicholls, Carolina Dynamo
Tim Oswald, Ocean City Nor'easters
Gary Parsons, Michigan Bucks

Defender of the Year
Kevin Cope, Michigan Bucks
Max Gunderson, Laredo Heat
Sebastien Ibeagha, Carolina Dynamo

Goalkeeper of the Year
Adam Grinwis, Michigan Bucks
Alonzo Jimenez, West Texas Sockers
John McCarthy, Ocean City Nor'easters

The awards for Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Defender of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year and Coach of the Year were be presented at Saturday's awards ceremony at the 2012 PDL Championship in Greensboro, North Carolina.