clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pia Sundhage Names 28 Players for Upcoming USWNT Training Camp

Getty Images

Now that The USWNT team has qualified for the Summer Olympics after a superb tournament in Canada, Head Coach Pia Sundhage can now turn her focus onto her squads first friendly match of the new year against New Zealand. The match will be played at FC Dallas Stadium in Frisco, Texas, marking the eighth time the USWNT will play in the Lone Star State.

The team will have practice for one week before the game, culminating in Coach Sundhage choosing 18 of the 28 women invited to camp to take the field against New Zealand on February 11th. "It is always good to play a World Cup team," Sundhage told, "There were many positives to take out of Olympic Qualifying in Canada and one of those was the depth of the team."

Of the 28 players invited, 19 of the them are players who took to the field during the Olympic Qualifying Tournament. Players like Hope Solo, Abby Wambach, Amy Rodriguez, Alex Morgan and Carli Lloyd will all be returning.The one major name not on the list is defender Ali Krieger, who underwent successful surgery today on a torn ACL/MCL after picking up an injury during the first game of the qualifying tournament against the Dominican Republic.

The other nine players invited to camp by Coach Sundhage include goalkeepers Ashlyn Harris and Jill Loyden, defenders Stephanie Cox and Whitney Engen, and midfielders Yael Averbuch, Meghan Klingenberg, Kristie Mewis, Christine Nairn and Keelin Winters.

The USWNT's game against New Zealand is set for a 3 p.m. start time on Saturday February 11th. As of right now, a television network has not been listed. Stay tuned to Brotherly Game for more information closer to game day. A full list of players called up for training camp can be viewed after the jump.

Goalkeepers: Nicole Barnhart, Ashlyn Harris, Jill Loyden, Hope Solo. Defenders: Rachel Buehler, Stephanie Cox, Whitney Engen, Amy LePeilbet, Heather Mitts, Kelley O'Harra, Christie Rampone, Becky Sauerbrunn. Midfielders: Yael Averbuch, Shannon Boxx, Tobin Heath, Meghan Klingenberg, Lori Lindsey, Carli Lloyd, Kristie Mewis, Christine Nairn, Heather O'Reilly, Megan Rapinoe, Amy Rodriguez, Keelin Winters. Forwards: Lauren Cheney, Sydney Leroux, Alex Morgan, Abby Wambach.