clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Union Confirm Comcast Sportsnet And The Comcast Network As Television Partners

New, 6 comments

Last Friday, the Brotherly Game exclusively reported that the Philadelphia Union would appear on Comcast SportsNet and on the Comcast Network during the 2011 season, in addition to 6abc. Today, the team officially confirmed that original report.

The Union will appear on one of these Comcast properties for 20 of the team's 34 regular season games. Seven additional games will be broadcasted by 6abc. A further three games will be aired on ESPN2, and the other four games will appear on Fox Soccer Channel.

When the Brotherly Game originally broke the news, editor Ben Feldman analyzed the full 2011 broadcast schedule in an article that also included which games would be on 6abc and which games would either be on CSN or TCN, but nothing more was known. The Union has now revealed which games will actually be aired by CSN, and which will be on TCN.

Ben also pointed out an anomaly in the broadcast schedule: the Chicago Fire's trip to PPL Park on Saturday, May 21. The game was scheduled to be televised nationally, in Spanish, by Galavision. But it was unknown if a concurrent English-language broadcast would be offered. The Union confirmed that this game will also be available in English on CSN. After the jump you can find the full, updated broadcast schedule.

Interestingly enough, a few changes have been made from the original schedule that was reported on the Brotherly Game. The Union's trip to Vancouver was originally already allotted to CSN, but this game has been moved to TCN. Also, Philadelphia's away game against the New England Revolution was slated to air on 6abc, but it has been moved to TCN as well. To make up for this switch, 6abc has picked up the Union's home game against Houston, which originally belonged to one of the Comcast channels. These changes are reflected below in bold.

The Brotherly Game's breaking news story also revealed that a weekly, half-hour Union show would begin airing this year as well. The Union has confirmed that this show, called "State of the Union," will be hosted by CSN personality Amy Fadool and will feature sideline reporter Bob Rigby as an in-studio analyst. The show will air on Friday nights, first at 7:00 PM on TCN and then replayed on CSN at 11:30.

In total, 7 games will air on 6abc, 10 will air on the Comcast Network, 10 will appear on Comcast SportsNet, 4 will be broadcasted by Fox Soccer Channel, and 3 will air on ESPN2. The home games against Chicago and New England will appear in Spanish on Galavision as well.

Saturday, March 19 @ Houston Dynamo - 6abc
Saturday, March 26 vs. Vancouver Whitecaps - 6abc
Saturday, April 2 @ LA Galaxy - TCN
Saturday, April 9 vs. New York Red Bulls - ESPN2
Saturday, April 16 vs. Seattle Sounders - CSN
Saturday, April 23 @ Real Salt Lake - TCN
Saturday, April 30 vs. San Jose Earthquakes - 6abc
Friday, May 6 @ Portland Timbers - FSC
Wednesday, May 11 vs. LA Galaxy - TCN
Saturday, May 14 @ FC Dallas - TCN
Saturday, May 21 vs. Chicago Fire - CSN/Galavision
Saturday, May 28 @ Toronto FC - CSN
Saturday, June 4 @ Colorado Rapids - CSN
Saturday, June 11 vs. Real Salt Lake - 6abc
Saturday, June 18 @ Vancouver Whitecaps - TCN
Wednesday, June 22 vs. Sporting Kansas City - TCN
Saturday, June 25 vs. Chivas USA - 6abc
Saturday, July 2 @ D.C. United - FSC
Saturday, July 9 @ San Jose Earthquakes - CSN
Saturday, July 16 @ New England Revolution - CSN
Saturday, July 23 @ Seattle Sounders - CSN
Friday, July 29 vs. Colorado Rapids - FSC
Wednesday, August 3 @ Chicago Fire - CSN
Saturday, August 6 vs. Houston Dynamo - 6abc
Saturday, August 13 vs. FC Dallas - 6abc
Saturday, August 20 @ Columbus Crew - TCN
Sunday, August 28 vs. New England Revolution - CSN/Galavision
Saturday, September 10 vs. Portland Timbers - TCN
Saturday, September 17 vs. Columbus Crew - TCN
Friday, September 23 @ Sporting Kansas City - FSC
Thursday, September 29 vs. D.C. United - ESPN2
Sunday, October 2 @ Chivas USA - TCN
Saturday, October 15 vs. Toronto FC - CSN
Thursday, October 20 @ New York Red Bulls - ESPN2