Breaking News reports Carlos Valdes will return to the Philadelphia Union "next week"

Philadelphia Union Goalkeeper Faryd Mondragon Named To The 2011 MLS All Star Team

HOUSTON - MARCH 19: Goalkeeper Faryd Mondragon of the Philadelphia Union celebrates after the final whistle as the defeated the Houston Dynamo 1-0 at Robertson Stadium on March 19, 2011 in Houston, Texas. (Photo by Bob Levey/Getty Images)

Faryd Mondragon, captain and starting goalkeeper for the Eastern Conference leading Philadelphia Union, was named to the 2011 MLS All Star team by its head coach Hans Backe, also the head coach of the New York Red Bulls.

Mondragon is the sole member of the Union who will be making an All Star trip this season, after Sebastien Le Toux started for MLS last year against Manchester United. Union fans were upset with the selection media group's choices for the six Union players that were on the All Star ballot itself, of whom none were voted into the game.

Right back Sheanon Williams, Mondragon and center back Carlos Valdes were put on the cusp of All Star squad appearances by the outpouring of support through Twitter, but only Mondragon profited from the Tweets.

As the back up to Tally Hall of the Houston Dynamo, Mondragon may not see much - if any - playing time, but he will give the Union a representative for the second straight year.

The full All Star roster:

Goalkeeper: Tally Hall (Houston Dynamo), Faryd Mondragón (Philadelphia Union)

Defenders: Corey Ashe (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Geoff Cameron (Houston Dynamo), Bobby Convey (San Jose Earthquakes), Sean Franklin (LA Galaxy), Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake), Heath Pearce (Chivas USA), Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), David Beckham (LA Galaxy), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Jack Jewsbury (Portland Timbers), Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution), Nick LaBrocca (Chivas USA)

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), Omar Bravo (Sporting Kansas City), Omar Cummings (Colorado Rapids), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Inactive All-Stars (Note that another six inactive All-Stars will be chosen via player voting):

Kasey Keller (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Rafa Marquez (New York Red Bulls), Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Brotherly Game

You must be a member of Brotherly Game to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Brotherly Game. You should read them.

Join Brotherly Game

You must be a member of Brotherly Game to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Brotherly Game. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.